Four Books, Five Days

While in the Virgin Islands I read four books. I realize this pretty much makes me the ultimate nerd, that’s okay. First I started off with a book I brought by Ally Condie called Matched.

The cover of the sequel..

I liked Matched pretty well, although it was really easy to read. I literally flew through the book during our time spent traveling to St. John and the first part of our first day there. The story reminded me a little bit of the Hunger Games just because the main character, Cassia, lives in a futuristic, utopian world where everyone is strictly governed to prevent “uprisings.” I am excited to read the sequel.

Then I moved on to a book that Casey brought called The Mailbox by Marybeth Whalen. This book was a really good, clean, sweet story- perfect for beach reading.

After I read that book I read The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian, which was HILARIOUS! I loved how Sherman Alexie wrote the book in a way that multiple age groups would enjoy. I was easy to read and a good story.

Finally I read a book by Elin Hilderbrand called Barefoot. This book was also a perfect beach book because it takes places in Nanetucket. I would recommend for any female to read this book, it has all the required elements to catch your attention- beach, rivalries between sisters, friendship, romance, marriage, children, ect. In the end, the book turns out to be a pretty heart warming story of how three women’s lives change drastically during one summer, and how the family comes together during hardship.

Now I’m reading American Wife by Curtis Sittenfeld as suggested by my sister Casey. I am having a little bit of a hard time getting into it, but I will perservere! Brayden is over to play with me & Zannie (what he calls my mom, Suzanne) for the day, so I’ll catch you guys lata :)

What books are you reading this summer? Any suggestions?

One thought on “Four Books, Five Days

  1. Pingback: Book Update | Amazing Grace

Leave a Reply

